Management Team2019-09-24T12:59:06-04:00

MANAGEMENT TEAM

PATRICK PIGEON

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, ACADEMY ESPORTS of CANADA

Patrick “Halterhozanca” Pigeon has been active in the Quebec video game community since 1998. Mr. Pigeon is one of the pioneers of electronic sport in Quebec. His interest in video game and esports has led Mr. Pigeon to be involved in many projects and to have a say on all facets of this field.

Mr. Pigeon has been the co-owner and Director of the late “Armata Gaming” and of “Boreal eSports”, two organizations that have distinguished themselves in the past in Quebec and have greatly contributed to the advancement of esports in the province. Boreal eSports was in the Top Five team ranking in North America and had the honor of representing Canada at many international competitions.

Mr. Pigeon is one of the founding members of la Fédération québécoise des sports électroniques (FQSE). He is also the chairman of the FQSE Board of Directors since its creation in 2016. Mr. Pigeon was the initiator and designer of la Ligue Cyber Espoirs (LCE). The LCE is the first electronic sport league for Quebec schools (high school – professional – CEGEP – university). Finally, Mr. Pigeon and MTL Esports joined forces to create the Montreal Esports Academy in Spring 2018, the very first Academy of its kind in Montreal, Quebec and Canada.

PATRICK RHÉAUME-ESPINOZA

DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS & ADMINISTRATION, ACADEMY ESPORTS of CANADA

Patrick “Rick” Rhéaume-Espinoza is the Executive Officer of the Academy and the first and last point of contact with the parents of all participants who pass through the doors of the Academy. Passionate about video games since his childhood, Mr. Rhéaume-Espinoza is a leading advocate on Cyber-Awareness and he deeply believes that the healthy use of video games is one of the solutions to prevent the phenomena that are Cyber Addiction, cyberbullying and online depression among our young adults and teenagers. Since 2014, Mr. Rhéaume-Espinoza has been actively involved as a volunteer in major public events including Le Grand défi Pierre Lavoie, La 49e et 51e Finale des Jeux du QuébecVive375 and l’Excellence sportive de l’île de Montréal.

Mr. Rhéaume-Espinoza is a former member of the Canadian Armed Forces from 2006 to 2012 and has gained unique professional experience with well respected military institutions, including through the Royal Military Colleges of Canada. Mr. Rhéaume-Espinoza is educated in the fields of international relations and public administration and holds a B.A. in Political Science and a Master of Public Administration from the Royal Military College of Canada. With strong rational skills, a very good vision of international strategic issues, the global economy and current trends, we can count on Mr. Rhéaume-Espinoza to work under extreme conditions while maintaining his ability to conduct our teams to achieve their objectives and, ultimately, carry out the mission of the Academy.

BENJAMIN DENIS

MARKETING DIRECTOR, ACADEMY ESPORTS of CANADA

Benjamin “SenorBenji” Denis is the main communication link between the Academies Esports of Canada and with their current and future partners. He received his Bachelor of Business Administration, B.A.A, in 2015 at the Université du Québec à Montréal, but it is in 2016 with the creation of the “Maplestone League” that he made himself known on the Quebec electronic sport scene. The Maplestone League has quickly become a reference for its professionalism and its creation of innovative content. Benjamin is an initial member of Montreal Esports and was part of all his adventures.

Primarily in charge of partners and sponsorships, Benjamin has also organized several major tournaments and broadcasts. Few people are on the lookout for new trends and the state of the esport market than Benjamin. “Versatile” would be the term that describes him best because the responsibilities as: “Caster”, “Stream Manager”, “Overlay Designer”, “Community Manager”, “Event Organizer”, “Shoutcaster”, “Admin”, “Shotcaller” are all roles and positions he has mastered through the years.

PHILIPPE GAUTHIER

DIRECTOR GENERAL, ACADÉMIE ESPORTS DE QUÉBEC

Mr. Philippe “QcMrPhil” Gauthier perfected his favorite game: Heroes of the Storm, where he managed to make his name and win the first place at LAN ÉTS 2016. It was precisely in 2016 that his two passions merged and he launched Cortex Esports , an organization specializing in extracurricular e-sport activity coaching offering its services in more than 10 secondary schools in Quebec City. His mandates also include the development of the Club Esports du Cégep de Sainte-Foy and the development of the Cégep de Limoilou Club.

Philippe is passionate and his passion rejoins the primary Mission of our Academies. He obtained his diploma in recreation intervention technique in 2006. Subsequently, he joined the team of the École du Cirque de Québec demonstrating his first passion: coaching young teenagers. During this same period, he devoted himself to his second passion: esports.

Philippe perfected his favorite game: Heroes of the Storm, where he managed to make his name and win the first place at LAN ÉTS 2016. It was precisely in 2016 that his two passions merged and he launched Cortex Esports , an organization specializing in extracurricular esports activities, coaching and offering its services in more than 10 high schools in Quebec City. His mandates also include the development of the Club Esports du Cégep de Sainte-Foy and the development of the Cégep de Limoilou Club.

ANTONIN TRAN

HEAD COACH, ACADEMIES ESPORTS Of CANADA

From France, Mr. Tran is the current head coach of the electronic sports teams at the Electronic Sports Club of the Université de Montréal. He has held his position since 2016. He has also coached the Overwatch Team of the same club and he is involved within several volunteer projects oriented around the training and well being of casual players. Through his experience as a transitional social worker and his medical research work, Mr. Tran has learned to work with people with severe physical and mental disabilities.

As part of his duties at the Academy, Mr. Tran will be able to use his knowledge in coaching, mentoring, biology and neuropsychology. In fact, he holds a bachelor’s degree in biology, a master’s degree in neuroscience (neuropsychology of development and physical imaging) and he is completing a Master’s degree in neuropsychology on the rehabilitation of the visual system at the Université de Montréal.

In addition to contributing to the creation of training programs, he will act as skills trainer for the Introduction camps and Overwatch Improvement camps during day camps.

Équipe de gestion2019-02-06T14:43:30+00:00

ÉQUIPE DE GESTION

PATRICK PIGEON

PRÉSIDENT DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL, ACADÉMIE ESPORTS DU CANADA

Patrick « Halterhozanca » Pigeon est actif dans la communauté québécoise du jeu vidéo depuis 1998. M. Pigeon est l’un des pionniers du sport électronique au Québec. Son intérêt pour le jeu vidéo et les e-sports ont mené M. Pigeon à s’impliquer dans de nombreux projets et à toucher à toutes les facettes de ce domaine.

M. Pigeon a été le co-propriétaire et directeur des opérations de feu « Armata Gaming » et de « Boreal eSports » deux organisations qui s’étaient grandement démarquées par le passé au Québec et qui avaient grandement contribué à la progression du sport électronique dans la belle Province. Boreal eSports a notamment eut des équipes classées parmi les cinq meilleures en Amérique et l’honneur de représenter le Canada lors de nombreuses compétions internationales.

M. Pigeon est l’un des membres fondateurs de la Fédération québécoise de sports électroniques (FQSE). Il est aussi le président du conseil d’administration de la FQSE depuis sa création en 2016. M. Pigeon fut l’Initiateur et le concepteur de la Ligue Cyber Espoirs (LCE). La LCE est la première ligue de sport électronique pour les établissements scolaire (secondaire – professionnel – cégep – université) du Québec. Finalement, M. Pigeon et MTL Esports se sont joint pour créer l’Académie Esports de Montréal en printemps 2018, la première académie de son genre à Montréal, au Québec et au Canada.

M. Pigeon a plus de deux décennies d’expérience dans les sports électronique et se retrouve maintenant à la barre pour faire rayonner le Québec dans l’industrie du sport électronique et faire reconnaître le talent québécois et canadien sur la scène internationale.

PATRICK RHÉAUME-ESPINOZA

DIRECTEUR DES OPÉRATIONS ET DE L’ADMINISTRATION, ACADÉMIE ESPORTS DU CANADA

Patrick « Rick » Rhéaume-Espinoza est le principal officier exécutif de l’Académie Esports du Canada en plus d’être le premier et dernier point de contact avec les parents de tous les jeunes qui traversent les portes de l’Académie. Passionné de jeux vidéo depuis sa tendre enfance, M. Rhéaume-Espinoza est un défenseur de premier plan sur la cybersensibilisation et il croit profondément que la saine utilisation des jeux vidéo est une des solutions pour prévenir les phénomènes que sont la cyberdépendance, la cyberintimidation et la dépression en ligne chez les jeunes. Depuis 2014, M. Rhéaume-Espinoza est revenu à Montréal et il s’est impliqué activement comme bénévole aux grands événements publics dont Le Grand défi Pierre Lavoie, La 49e et 51e Finale des Jeux du Québec, Vive375, et l’Excellence sportive de l’île de Montréal.

M. Rhéaume-Espinoza est un ancien membre des Forces armées canadiennes de 2006 à 2012 et il a acquis une expérience professionnelles unique auprès d’institutions militaires chevronnées notamment à travers les Collèges militaires royaux du Canada. M. Rhéaume-Espinoza est instruit dans les champs des relations internationales et de l’administration publique. Il détient un B.A. ès en science politique et une Maîtrise en administration publique, M.A.P., du Collège militaire royal du Canada. Doté de fortes habiletés rationnelles, d’une très bonne vision des enjeux stratégiques internationaux, de l’économie mondiale, des tendances actuelles et d’une résilience exceptionnelle; nous pouvons compter sur M. Rhéaume-Espinoza pour travailler sous des conditions extrêmes tout en maintenant sa capacité à mener nos équipes vers l’atteinte des objectifs et, ultimement, mener à bon port la mission de l’Académie.

BENJAMIN DENIS

DIRECTEUR MARKETING, ACADÉMIE ESPORTS DU CANADA

Benjamin «SenorBenji» Denis est le lien de communication principal de l’Académie Esports du Canada avec ses partenaires actuels et futurs. Il a reçu son baccalauréat en Administration des affaires, B.A.A., en 2015 à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, mais c’est en 2016 avec la création de la « Maplestone League » qu’il se fait connaître sur la scène du sport électronique québécois. La Maplestone League est vite devenu une référence de par son professionnalisme et de par sa création de contenu innovant. Benjamin est un membre initial de Montréal Esports et il a fait partie de toutes ses aventures.

Principalement en charge des partenaires et commandites, Benjamin a aussi organisé plusieurs tournois et diffusions d’envergure. Peu de personnes sont à l’affût des nouvelles tendances et de l’état du marché du sport électronique que Benjamin. « Polyvalent » serait le terme qui le décrit le mieux car les responsabilités en tant que: Caster, Stream Manager, Overlay Designer, Community Manager, Event Organizer, Shoutcaster, Admin, Shotcaller sont tous des postes et des positions dont il est passé maître dans l’art.

PHILIPPE GAUTHIER

DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL, ACADÉMIE ESPORTS DE QUÉBEC

M. Philippe « QcMrPhil » Gauthier est un passionné et sa passion rejoint la mission première de nos Académies. Il a obtenu son diplôme en technique d’intervention en loisir en 2006. Par la suite, il a intégré l’équipe de l’École du Cirque de Québec démontrant ainsi sa première passion: l’encadrement des jeunes. Durant cette même période, il s’est consacré à sa deuxième passion: le sport électronique.

Philippe se perfectionne dans son jeu préféré: Heroes of the Storm, où il réussit à se faire un nom et à remporter la première place au LAN ÉTS 2016. C’est justement en 2016 que ses deux passions fusionnèrent et qu’il lança Cortex Esports, un organisme spécialisé dans l’encadrement d’activité parascolaire du sport électronique offrant ses services dans plus de 10 écoles secondaires de la ville de Québec. Dans ses mandats entrent aussi en scène le développement du Club esports du Cégep de Sainte-Foy ainsi que le développement du Club du Cégep de Limoilou.

ANTONIN TRAN

ENTRAÎNEUR-CHEF, ACADÉMIES ESPORTS DU CANADA

Originaire de France, M. Antonin Tran est l’actuel entraîneur-chef des équipes de sport électronique du Club de Sport Électronique de l’Université de Montréal. Il occupe cette fonction depuis 2016. Il a aussi entrainé l’équipe d’Overwatch pour ce même club et il est impliqué dans plusieurs projets bénévoles orientés autour de l’entrainement et le bien être de joueurs occasionnels. Par son expérience de travailleur social en maison de transition ainsi que par son travail de recherche en médecine, M. Tran a appris à travailler avec des personnes présentant de lourds handicaps physiques et mentaux.

Dans le cadre de ses fonctions à l’Académie, M. Tran pourra mettre à profit ses connaissances en coaching, d’encadrement, biologie et neuropsychologie. En effet, il est détenteur d’une licence en biologie, d’une maîtrise en neurosciences (neuropsychologie du développement et imagerie physique) et il termine une maîtrise en neuropsychologie sur la réhabilitation du système visuel à l’Université de Montréal.

En plus de contribuer à la création des programmes de formation, il agira à titre d’entraîneur technique pour les programmes d’entraînement spécialisé sur Overwatch.